Cancellation

The cancellation process starts from a personal link which each subscriber can find on newsletters or in his profile page (of course if you added it). The cancellation is elsewhere named “unsubscription” but actually this is not a English word, so we prefer to stick with “cancellation”.

Below you’ll find the word “unsubscription” used in our tags. We’re going to replace those tag names with the correct ones, but we keep them for compatibility.

We can have two kinds of cancellations: the long one which shows a message asking if the subscriber want to actually proceed (and exposing few reasons to not cancel) and the short one which produces and immediate cancellation with a goodbye message.

It’s up to you to select the process that better fit your needs.

Long version

The long version is started when the subscriber follows the link generated by the {unsubscription_url} tag (yes we messed up with words…) which show a message you can configure in the cancellation setup panel.

That message should advise the subscriber about the consequences of his cancellation and offer the final link to proceed with the cancellation, generated by the tag {unsubscription_confirm_url}. If that link is followed, the goodbye message is shown and the subscriber set as “unsubscribed”.

If not disabled, the goodbye email is sent.

The subscriber is not deleted, it’s only moved to a different status. So all his data is kept. If you’re concerned by privacy laws (like the GDPR) you should consider to delete periodically the subscribers which have the unsubscribed status. You can do it from the “Subscriber Maintenance” panel.

Short version

If you prefer (many do) to offer an immediate cancellation link, you can use on newsletters and profile page directly the {unsubscription_confirm_url}. It moves immediately the subscriber to the unsubscribed status and shows the goodbye message.

If not disabled, the goodbye email is sent.

Reactivation

Since version 6.0.0.

You may want to offer the subscription reactivation if the subscriber cancelled by error. The goodbye message is the right place where to put it, adding a link using the URL generated by {reactivate_url} which restore the confirmed status and shows the “reactivated” message (always configurable in the “Cancellation” settings panel).

If you’re used to send the goodbye email message, you can use that URL even there.

List-Unsubscribe header

List-Unsubscribe is a special header (RFC 2369) which can be added to emails when they are sent to a list of people, like a newsletter.

That header contains “instructions” to unsubscribe which can be used by email clients (like Thunderbird, Gmail, Outlook, …) to show an unsubscribe button. Not all email clients support it and if supported, not always it is shown.

Anyway, Newsletter adds on each email that special header, so if you see your email client showing a button to unsubscribe, this is the reason.

Tech note

If you look at the source of a newsletter, you should find something like:

List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.yoursite.com/?na=uc&nk=...>

where the “…” are replaced with a unique subscriber token. If the header is not there, probably it is removed by the mail service of your provider.