Home Forums Newsletter Plugin Support Suggestion about un-subcribe process

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #21064
    Mohib
    Participant

    If a subscriber forwards a newsletter email he receives to his friend, his friend my think it was sent as spam from us, as the source, and then un-subscribe. All kinds of warnings can be put in that process, and I understand there is even a two step process where the un-subscribe process can be first initiated and then completed with a second click. But there’s nothing to stop anyone from doing it, if they have un-subscribe link.

    The real subscriber then gets an email he was un-subscribed, and I realize we can explain if he didn’t un-subscribe then perhaps the above scenario happened.

    So what I would like to do next is make it painless — one click and not a double opt-in all over again — for the wrongly un-subscribed person to re-subscribe. There are two solutions I can think of:

    a) (BEST) Include the subscribe confirmation link in the un-subscribe email so they just click on it and are resubscribed. But this doesn’t work as it generates an error message.

    b) (NOT AS GOOD AS A) Include the profile link and tell the user click save. But this doesn’t work also because the status is not changed from un-subscribed to subscribe.

    Any other suggestions besides tell the user to re-enter their email address and have all the extra confirmation emails and steps as if they are a new subscriber and need to do double opt in all over again.

    • This topic was modified 6 years, 5 months ago by Mohib.
    #21124
    Stefano
    Keymaster

    The best way should be the old unsubscribe confirmation email like during subscription. This is no more used probably because people tends to not complete the process an mark as spam the subsequent newsletters.

    Another solution could be the use of the goodbye email and add in it “if you didn’t unsubscribe your self or you change your mind, click here to reactivate the account”.

    Stefano.
    http://www.satollo.net

    #21125
    Mohib
    Participant

    >>>Another solution could be the use of the goodbye email and add in it “if you didn’t unsubscribe your self or you change your mind, click here to reactivate the account”.

    This is what I want to do but what link will reactivate the account immediately when clicked?

    I tired all the confirmation links and none will reactivate an account. The only way as for the person to reenter his email address, and then it starts the whole double optin process.

    I want one link to undo unsubscribe in one click. No, confirmation emails and other click.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.